Maca Cacao Banana Pancakes

IMG_2447

I’ve never been much of a pancake eater. I prefer waffles, but I also think of waffles as a special occasion breakfast and definitely an unhealthy splurge (because I like mine loaded with chocolate chips, whipped cream, syrup…). But then I heard about little- or no- flour pancakes. There are so many ways to make these. The base is one egg + one banana. So simple right? I’d been wanting to try it, and then I found Maca Banana Power Pancakes on pinterest and since I’m also on a huge maca kick lately, I had to go for it.

I added cacao powder as well to make them chocolate pancakes since I already had the maca + cacao combination at the front of my mind.

Maca Cacao Banana Pancakes

1 egg

1 banana

1 tbsp maca powder (optional)

1-2 tbsp cacao powder (optional)

1 tbsp coconut oil to fry in

Combine first 4 ingredients in blender (or mash by hand). Heat large pan on medium-low heat, add coconut oil, and pour batter over. Cover with lid; let sit until it cooks through (photo below). Add toppings of choice – for my daughter, I added chocolate chips, sliced banana, whipped cream and sprinkles.

Some other variations I’ve seen are the nut butter pancakes from Carrots n Cake, the greek yogurt pancakes from everyday belle, and pumpkin pancakes from fit fun tina. I can’t wait to experiment with adding greek yogurt, pumpkin, oats, nut butter, protein powder, and other healthy add-ins! I don’t like a lot of flour in my baked goods anyway, so why add flour, or even worse, pancake mix? It’s so not needed! I love how moist and melt-in-your-mouth these variations turn out.

I used my Blendtec to puree the batter, although you could also mash by hand, especially if your bananas are very ripe. Since I was making a batch for my husband, my 2-year-old and myself, I used 3 bananas, 3 eggs, 3 tbsp of maca powder and 5 tbsp of cacao powder, and it made 3 fairly large pancakes.

IMG_2448
the batter poured into the pan-
IMG_2450
-and cooked through!

I found that these were pretty difficult to flip – the first one I made fell apart into lots of pieces when I tried to flip it. But then I found to my surprise that I actually didn’t really need to flip them.  I just used a medium-low heat and left the lid on the pan, and they cooked all the way through without flipping. If you are a pancake flipping klutz like me, this is brilliant.

IMG_2451
The final pancake made it mostly intact onto the plate!!

I love these so much because you can feel great about eating these super healthy ingredients, they are easy to throw together, and best of all, they are a special, delectable chocolate treat. Both my husband and toddler loved them!

IMG_2449
toddler friendly breakfast fun!
Leave a Reply

