Cilantro Krab Ceviche with green tomato

I came to this recipe because while browsing the seafood counter at our local Safeway, I decided to buy a pound of “Krab” or imitation crab, because it was cheap and looked pretty good. Krab does not actually contain any crab; it’s made from various white fish ground into a paste known as “surimi” and reconstituted into a crablike texture with sugar, starch, oil, color and flavor. I love this stuff. I could just sit and eat it by the handful, but I try to be a little classier, and my husband wanted a real dinner rather than a plateful of krab, so I looked for some recipe ideas, per usual, on pinterest.

credit to http://www.nicolepeeler.com

This krab ceviche recipe was perfect since we had almost all the right ingredients! The only thing missing was roma tomatoes, but I had a green heirloom tomato I thought would work well instead.  I chopped up that tomato, half a cucumber, a bunch of cilantro, a thick slice of red onion, all the krab that was left after I devoured a good chunk of it, and squeezed a lime over it. It was really simple to throw together and smelled wonderfully of lime and cilantro right away.

IMG_2531
open faced sandwich
IMG_2532
ceviche over kale

The hardest part was letting it sit and marinate for an hour before diving in. We didn’t last a whole hour. I served mine over a couple leaves of kale, and for Rich I spread butter and mayo on bread and made a sandwich. Valerie wasn’t into it, unfortunately. This recipe is not toddler approved.

But we loved it!  Fresh, healthy, easy, at-home ceviche! Minus the very expensive high quality seafood. I would definitely make it again.

Leave a Reply

